Philly Sports Live

Gold Cup Groups & Schedule Announced

gold cup


The Confederation of North, Central American & Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced the groups and match schedule for the 2013 Gold Cup.  The United States, as one of the automatic seeds, was drawn into a group with Costa Rica, Cuba and Belize.

This years tournament will kick off with defending champions Mexico returning to the Rose Bowl, the site of their victory over the US in the 2011 finals, to take on Panama on July 7th.  The Americans will begin their tournament run two days later, meeting Belize at Jeld-WEN Field in Portland.

The groups and matches are as follows:

Group A: Canada, Martinique, Mexico, Panama

Sunday, July 7: Canada vs. Martinique at 5:30 pm & Mexico vs. Panama at 8 pm at the Rose Bowl, Pasadena, Calif.
Thursday, July 11: Panama vs. Martinique at 8:30 pm & Mexico vs. Canada at 11pm at CenturyLink Field, Seattle, IRC
Sunday, July 14: Martinique vs. Mexico at 4:00 pm & Panama vs. Canada 6:30 pm at Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Denver, Colo.

Group B: El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Trinidad and Tobago

Monday, July 8: El Salvador vs. Trinidad and Tobago at 7:00 pm & Haiti vs. Honduras at 9:30 pm at Red Bull Arena, Harrison, N.J.
Friday, July 12: Trinidad and Tobago vs. Haiti at 7:00 pm & Honduras vs. El Salvador at 9:30 pm at Sun Life Stadium, Miami Gardens, Fla.
Monday, July 15: El Salvador vs. Haiti at 7:00 pm & Honduras vs. Trinidad & Tobago at 9:30 pm at BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston, Texas

Group C: Belize, Costa Rica, Cuba, United States

Tuesday, July 9: Costa Rica vs. Cuba at 8:30 pm & Belize vs. United States at 11:00 pm at JELD-WEN Field, Portland, IRC
Saturday, July 13: United States vs. Cuba at 4:00 pm & Costa Rica vs. Belize at 6:30 pm at Rio Tinto Stadium, Sandy, Utah
Tuesday, July 16: Cuba vs. Belize at 5:30 pm & United States vs. Costa Rica at 8:00 pm at Rentschler Field, East Hartford, Conn.

Quarterfinals will be held July 20th & 21st, with Mexico likely headed to Atlanta, and the US  to Baltimore.  Semifinals will be played in Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, TX on July 24th, and the Finals contested at Soldier Field in Chicago, site of the 2007 victory that sent the US to the Confederations Cup.

Stick with Philly Sports Live for continuing coverage of the USMNT & this Summer’s Gold Cup.