Philly Sports Live

Chesapeake Repeats as MLL Champions

2013 MLL Champs

The Chesapeake Bay Hawks your 2013 Major League Lacrosse champions

(Chester PA) On Sunday August 25 from PPL Park in Chester PA, Major League Lacrosse hosted the Championship game for the 2013 season between the 4th seed Charlotte Hounds against the 2nd seed & defending champion Chesapeake Bay Hawks. Charlotte made the Title game by beating the number 1 seed Denver Outlaws, Chesapeake defeated Hamilton to get back to the title game. The game was broadcasted on ESPN2 with Joe Beninati & Quint Kessenich calling the action.

The first goal of the game came from the Charlotte Hounds Ryan Young early in 1st, the Bay Hawks get their first goal from Ben Rubeor. Both teams would trade goals in the first half, and the Bay Hawks took a 5-2 lead into Halftime. Charlotte would make a strong comeback to stay in this game, The hounds would score 5 goals in the 4th quarter including a 2 point goal from Matt Danowski  as the clock expired to end the game, the Bayhawks would go on to repeat at champions, they hold on to a 10-9 win. The Philadelphia Wings & Bay Hawks  own Drew Westervelt scored hat trick in the game. The Bay Hawks John Grant Jr was named Championship MVP by scoring seven points during championship weekend. The Charlotte Hounds Ryan Young scored 4 goals in the championship. There was 3,972 in Attendance at PPL park for the Championship game